Brunches of Fun!

By Colleen Laughlin

ron-swanson-breakfast-poster-bacon-eggs-office-parks-recreation-dave-delisle-2013-davesgeekyideas1

Photo Credit: Dave’s Geeky Ideas

One of my favorite things in life is brunch. I love breakfast foods, but not waking up early, so brunch lets me sleep in but also eat delicious food. It’s the best of both worlds. Luckily I live in Chicago, the top city in the US for brunch! Ron Swanson and Leslie Knope got it right when they said people were idiots for eating anything other than breakfast foods.

There’s no shortage of delicious brunch places to discover in Chicago. Since Easter is this Sunday, and Easter and brunch go together like Leslie Knope and waffles, I figured I should highlight some of my favorite brunch places in Chicago.

1. Jam n’ Honey

Address: 958 W Webster Ave

Phone Number: (773) 327-5266

133

Photo Credit: Amanda McDonald

Located near De Paul University just off the Fullerton Red/Brown/Purple line stop of the CTA, Jam N’ Honey is a small, but delicious, breakfast place. The menu has a wide range of foods on their menu including oatmeal pancakes, waffles, and different types of eggs Benedict; there’s something for everyone. The best part? Every table comes stocked with a giant jar of Nutella. Perfect for toast, pancakes, and even coffee.  The restaurant is pretty small, so be prepared to wait, but it’s totally worth it.  My roommate went for something sweet and got waffles with bananas and whipped cream (pictured above. Check out her post about Jam N’ Honey on another blog I’m a part of here). Another friend got oatmeal pancakes topped with a blueberry compote. I prefer savory breakfast foods so I went for the Breakfast Chilaquiles (2 Eggs  on a Bed of Tortilla Chips, Topped with Beans Chorizo, Pepper Jack Cheese, Pico de Gallo and Sour Cream) and was so excited to eat it that I forgot to take a picture… oops.

If you’re ever in the mood for breakfast, bottomless coffee, and a great meal, check out Jam N’ Honey.

And don’t worry: they’re open 8am-9pm 7 days a week (they close at 4pm on Sundays), and breakfast is served all day.

10649731_1106047629421219_6801433087964487241_n

Photo Credit: Jam N’ Honey

2. Yolk

5 Locations in Chicago

Phone Number: 855-328-9655 (each location has their own phone number listed here)

10649734_1020131368000693_547774857181409479_n

Photo Credit: Yolk

Yolk restaurants can be found throughout Chicago (as well as Indiana and Texas) but the multiple branches do not diminish the quality. One Sunday morning myself and two friends ventured out into the cold (it was December) in the search of delicious breakfast food. And boy did we get it. We went to the South Loop location (1120 S. Michigan Avenue). It was very busy when we got there (there was a Bear’s game later that day), but we only had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. The menu was overwhelming to a breakfast lover like me because I wanted to try everything. I ended up going for the South of The Border Bennie (English muffin, chorizo and chipotle sauce topped with two poached eggs and homemade hollandaise) and once again was too excited about it to remember to take a picture (are you sensing a theme here?). One of my friends got banana pancakes, and the other got red velvet french toast (which was actually the whole reason we decided to try Yolk) which she offered me a bite of–and it was incredible. Of course, I also got coffee because I am a total caffeine addict, and no breakfast is complete without a cup of coffee to go with it.

Yolk is a cheap breakfast (and lunch!) restaurant with great food and plenty of locations.

 Breakfast is served all day and Yolk is open 6am-3pm Monday-Friday and 7am – 3pm Saturday, Sunday, and Major Holidays 

yokl

Photo Credit: Yo Chicago

3. Tweet (Let’s Eat)

5020 North Sheridan Road

Phone Number: 773-728-5576

photo

Photo Credit: Colleen Laughlin

Tweet is probably my all time favorite brunch place in Chicago. I randomly found it my freshman year when someone I follow on Instagram posted a picture from there and tagged the location, and I decided to try it the next weekend when my parents were in town. I’ve been back twice since and have yet to be disappointed. Their menu is huge. My mom and I both joke that we could eat there every day for a year and still not be able to try everything on the menu. The first time I went I got the gluten free pumpkin pancakes because I love all things pumpkin. The second time I went I got the California Benedict which is eggs Benedict with avocado and tomatoes, and the third time, I got sausage and biscuit Benedict (and finally remembered to take a picture). Everything was amazing. They also have this chocolate chip bread that they put on the table that’s pretty amazing. The coffee is great, and all the food is organic which is always good. Aidy Bryant from Saturday Night Live has even cited it as her favorite breakfast place in Chicago.

**one important thing to note is that Tweet is Cash Only, but there are ATMs in the restaurants.

Tweet is open from 8:30am-3pm 7 days a week

28205_131247336889129_1230614_n

Photo Credit: Tweet

I’m always up for trying new breakfast food so comment with your favorite brunch places so I can try them!

Leave a Reply

